BOINC@AUSTRALIA FORUM

  • December 08, 2019, 11:15:33 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

BOINC@AUSTRALIA has a facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/groups/7742313626/
Come on by and have a look.

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: PPS-Sieve app_config file  (Read 53 times)

chooka03

  • Information Member
  • Super Hero
  • *****
  • Aussie Karma: +617/-2
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1906
PPS-Sieve app_config file
« on: November 24, 2019, 04:01:39 PM »

Sorry but does anyone have this? To enable more than 1 WU @ a time running.
I'm sure it's something simple but it's a file I surprisingly don't have.

Would it be this? This is my closest guess.

<app_config>
    <app>
        <name>PPS-Sieve</name>
        <gpu_versions>
            <gpu_usage>0.5</gpu_usage>
            <cpu_usage>0.2</cpu_usage>
        </gpu_versions>
    </app>
</app_config>

If I add this to my current Primegrid app_config, will it just work?

chooka03

  • Information Member
  • Super Hero
  • *****
  • Aussie Karma: +617/-2
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1906
Re: PPS-Sieve app_config file
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2019, 06:04:29 PM »

I cracked it! (Well no I didn't...I found it :)

<app>
<name>pps_sr2sieve</name>
<gpu_versions>
<gpu_usage>0.5</gpu_usage>
<cpu_usage>0.2</cpu_usage>
</gpu_versions>

In case anyone else comes looking.
Where's the "BOO its nearly Monday" emoji  :cry

chooka03

  • Information Member
  • Super Hero
  • *****
  • Aussie Karma: +617/-2
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1906
Re: PPS-Sieve app_config file
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2019, 04:52:04 AM »

What do others use when crunching PPS Sieve work? Do you run more than 1 wu at a time?
It looks like with 1 wu running, there's bugger all activity on the GPU.

Dingo

  • Founder BOINC@AUSTRALIA
  • ADMINISTRATOR
  • Board Lord
  • *****
  • Aussie Karma: +2197/-0
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 9378
    • Parliament Hill Webcam
Re: PPS-Sieve app_config file
« Reply #3 on: November 25, 2019, 07:42:49 AM »

I had a look at my app_config and I do not have an entry for any GPU work so I must run one at a time.  I ran one just to see in CAM what it was doing and it was using between 67 - 70% for one task om a 1080Ti and it ran for 3 minutes 43 seconds.   :BigGrin

If you want to run some long tasks give Manual Sieving a try on Primegrid.   You start off with small tasks but as you return work successfully you have the ability to increase the size of the work.  http://www.primegrid.com/show_sieving.php  There is a how to page that you should read"Introduction to Manual Sieving" and the work gets credited towards the PSA Badge.  You basically
1. create a folder. 
2. Download the work and the app into the folder. 
3. Run the work in a command line box. 
4. Send the results back on the web page provided.
« Last Edit: November 25, 2019, 07:49:43 AM by Dingo »
Logged

Have a look at the BOINC@AUSTRALIA Facebook Page and join.

Proud Founder and member of BOINC@AUSTRALIA

HERE are my Primes from Primegrid

Have a look at my  Web Cam of Parliament House Ottawa, CANADA

chooka03

  • Information Member
  • Super Hero
  • *****
  • Aussie Karma: +617/-2
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1906
Re: PPS-Sieve app_config file
« Reply #4 on: November 25, 2019, 06:59:03 PM »

Thanks Dingo  :thumbsup:
Yeah the AMD cards aren't that great for PG. I briefly mucked around with multiple WU's and reserving cores. Times were anywhere from 14min 30 down to 10mins.
1 WU put bugger all load on the GPU. I did notice when I cut my cores in half (50% CPU usage) and ran x 3 WU's, the load was consistent. In the end I gave up. I said I wasn't going to do any GPU work over summer. I need to try and stick to that. Too hot and getting too expensive 24/7.

I'll revisit this at a later date but improving my PG rank is on the cards.
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.052 seconds with 21 queries.